We are continuous learners who are responsible, caring citizens in a global community.

Areas of Eligibility


District 95 follows the state and federal laws that establish criteria for special education eligibility.  The federal government recognizes 13 categories under which children may qualify for special education. These disabilities include:
  • autism
  • deaf-blindness
  • deafness
  • emotional disability
  • hearing impairment
  • cognitive disability
  • multiple disabilities
  • orthopedic impairment
  • other health impairment
  • specific learning disability
  • speech or language impairment
  • traumatic brain injury and
  • visual impairment
 A child may also be declared eligible for special education services under the category of developmental delay.  This category can only be used for young children, ages 3 through 9, who meet the criteria of one or more of the other disability categories above and who are experiencing delay(s) in at least one of the following areas:   Physical development, cognitive development, communication development, social and emotional development, or adaptive development.  The child must be determined eligible for special education under one of the IDEA special education categories indicated above in order to apply the developmentally delayed category.


©2020 Lake Zurich Community Unit School District 95. All rights reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com|Site Map|Terms & Conditions|Privacy Policy|RSS